:twisted:

marksteamnz
Antipspambot question: 0

Re: anyone into hybrids ?

Post by marksteamnz » Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:37 am

anguz wrote:laffin-gas.com

:twisted:
Thanks anguz.
I like rocket powered cars and that one's great. They are a bit confused in their history page and who is making hybrids, but over all a fun site.
Cheers
Mark Stacey
www.cncprototyping.co.nz

NickC

re: anyone into hybrids ?

Post by NickC » Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:50 am

mark, what's inside of a hybrid? I understand the concept and all that, but actually machining one. the NOX regulating nozzle is just a disk with a hole in it and two o-ring groves and then you have a burst disk in front of it? or there is like a kind of nipple attachment in there where you attach the nylon tubing? do you use circlips to hold the nozzle in? it seems like it'd be kinda deep.

marksteamnz

Post by marksteamnz » Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:19 am

Nick I'm no expert but there is a yahoo group for Hybrids and a lot of developement happening as in the UK it is illegal to mix propellent with out an explosives liscence, so hybrids rule. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/hybridrocketmotors/
Join up and read up the links and files
Briefly my understanding from my Hi Power rocketry mags is the plastic fill tube on some motors is burnt thru by the ignitor so the Nitrous is released at the same time as the fuel is being exposed to the ignitor flame.
Cheers
Mark Stacey
www.cncprototyping.co.nz

NickC

Post by NickC » Mon Sep 11, 2006 9:34 am

I got that part, but just wasn't sure how they were executing it. That 44.5mm motor on your site looked like a hybrid. I was just wondering if it was made up of two screw together tubes or something else.

-not even sugar propellant in the UK?

Ray

Post by Ray » Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:02 pm

Check out this site. They have instructions on how to build a Hybrid motor of their construction...It should give you a good picture of the way a hybrid motor works.