question about Potassium Nitrate, Help Please!!

Moderator: Mike Everman

HC
Antipspambot question: 0

question about Potassium Nitrate, Help Please!!

Post by HC » Thu Apr 20, 2006 4:15 am

hello All,

I am new in this forum, I live in El Salvador and recently found this great forum!
I am a Amateur making rockets, just make a few ( very Primitive) impulsed with Black Powder , that works fine but now after visited the Mr. Nakka website, I want to improve the performance using other materials, and the potassium nitrate-sucrose propellant looks a great option and give me the chance to reduce my cost's and risk ( black powder is expensive here and can blow my home :cry: )
I was looking for the potassium nitrate but I cant find here as a fertilizer.
I was looking for 10-0-45 fertilizer but I only find 10-30-20, 15-15-15 between others. I tryed to get potassium nitrate in local pharmacies but they look me like a " rare guy " and they began to do questions to me about so for what reason I want this material. I tryed to find sorbitol without success too

I would like to know if there is any of this other fertilizers could work or I need exactly the 10-0-45 fertilizer?, or if I can find potassium nitrate in any other presentation or in the worst case if I can use any other material instead potassium nitrate ?
By the way, there is another name for sorbitol? or another product that hev this ingredient?

I very apreciatte any help because all that I know for now is the info that I read in Mr. Nakka website

Thanks in advance!!

Humberto

Zippiot

re: question about Potassium Nitrate, Help Please!!

Post by Zippiot » Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:35 am

I asked the same question a while back and it changed my life!!!

Look for grants stump remover, it is 6 dollars a pound in the us, a little more expensive that fertilizer but it is a very high grade (like 98%)