Question about nozzle throat area equation

Moderator: Mike Everman

superman12
Antipspambot question: 0

Question about nozzle throat area equation

Post by superman12 » Thu Mar 31, 2005 1:24 am

Hello, I'm a university student who has just started learning about rocket propulsion. I was reading one of the very famous online source and came across with this formula At=Wt/Pt(RTt/γGc)^(1/2) or ( http://www.risacher.org/rocket/neq-7.png )

R is gas constant, Tt is the temperature of the gasses at nozzle throat, Gamma is the ratio of gas specific heats and Pt is the pressure.

It is supposedly a formula of calculating the area of nozzle throat but the problem is, I don't understand how one would derive that, and why there is gravity constant involved in the equation. I have 9 books on rocket propulsion sitting next to me right now, I have read all of those but still can't figure it out. The only formula that I see in most of the books and sources on the internet is http://www.lerc.nasa.gov/WWW/K-12/airpl ... mflchk.gif (formula at the very bottom). Could someone please tell me how to derive the nozzle throat area formula? Thanx in advance

larry cottrill

re: Question about nozzle throat area equation

Post by larry cottrill » Thu Mar 31, 2005 2:57 am

super,

I don't know much about rockets, but I DO know the answer to ONE of your questions - what is the gravitational constant in there for?

In both the English and Metric systems, calculations involve DIFFERENT UNITS for mass and force. Unfortunately, in the English system we are used to thinking of mass in force terms: pounds [or lb], rather than the real term of mass, the slug! On the other hand, in the Metric system, we have gotten accustomed to thinking of forces in mass terms [Kg] rather than in actual terms of force, such as Newtons. Physicists generally are careful to keep their use of the units "pure", but engineers do not!