Stainless, superalloys, or other??

Moderator: Mike Everman

paulengr
Antipspambot question: 0

Post by paulengr » Tue Dec 26, 2006 10:54 pm

Before I start, I need to confess my background. I have a metallurgy degree. Second, I work at a foundry. In other words, I don't flinch watching a pulse jet get red hot. I work around stuff that exceeds 2000 F every day.

So after reading a lot of the posts, I was thinking about some ideas of ways I would try to do the same thing.

Using carbon steel is obviously nuts. It's only good to 600 F. So that immediately puts you in the stainless world.

For those who are "shocked" when they see corrosion on stainless, this is NORMAL. The temperature protection in stainless steels (ignoring some of the more exotic alloys) comes from oxidation of the chromium. Boosting chrome content is the surest and fastest way to get yourself thermal protection without going seriously exotic.

304 stainless is cheap, readily available, and limited to about 1200 F (I've seen some claims of 800 F but it can sustain 1200 F all day long for years so I don't get the 800 F claim).

316 gets you marginally to 1600 F. Structurally, it does not have the strength of 304.

The intended purpose here is that 304 is intended as "structural" stainless. 316 is for high corrosion resistance...use this for chemicals.

"Real" high temperature stainless is usually 309 or 310, with 310 being the better member. These get you all the way to about 1800 F for sustained periods. Creep is a bit of a problem, but it holds up otherwise.

To go higher, you've got to either go ceramic or to a superalloy. Inco 625 and 610 are both popular. I've worked with 625. It shapes and welds VERY easily. One of the problems with forming it is that you are limited to spin casting for shapes (melting temperature is 2400-2600 F). If you are careful about designs, you can exceed 2000 F. Over time, I've found that it has some serious creep issues.