what material?

Moderator: Mike Everman

stq
Antipspambot question: 0

what material?

Post by stq » Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:58 pm

i am new to this sport and was wondering what is the best material for a valveless pulsejet. I want t build one that is not more than 45cm long, can i use copper or is stainless steel a must ? if the jet works well i might put it on my model aircraft.So will copper be reliable enough

Mark

re: what material?

Post by Mark » Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:30 pm

If nothing else, you can make the most beautiful blue-green flame. Copper is pretty borderline, but good for a prototype I suppose. Maybe you could keep it cool with a water bath or just a flow of water over the copper. Copper conducts heat very well, thus of course used in pots and pans and other interesting applications.
Mark
http://www.copperheatsink.com/index.html
http://www.chemicalelements.com/elements/cu.html
Presentation is Everything

El-Kablooey

Post by El-Kablooey » Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm

How are you going to join the copper pieces together? Even silver solder will melt. Copper can be TIG welded pretty easily, but if you can TIG why not use SS??

El-Kablooey

Post by El-Kablooey » Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm

How are you going to join the copper pieces together? Even silver solder will melt. Copper can be TIG welded pretty easily, but if you can TIG why not use SS??

Mark

Post by Mark » Sat Jul 22, 2006 12:33 am

While I haven't "ironed" out all the hurdles, or coppered them out rather, I have toyed with the idea of copper pulsejets. What I did for a good start was to file out the little teeth in the bells so that the 1/2 inch tubing could slide all the way through without hanging up. Then I flared the ends and reversed them, pulled them back the other way making a very tight seal.