ramjet vehicle performance estimation tool

Moderator: Mike Everman

dgsharp
Antipspambot question: 0

ramjet vehicle performance estimation tool

Post by dgsharp » Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:29 pm

I am developing a simple but hopefully useful Excel spreadsheet to help me in my attempt to build a self-sustaining ramjet. (It will be boosted up to speed by a rocket, so it will be launched vertically.) I'm no expert at any of this, but I'm doing the best I can with what I know.

Right now it basically works like any crude rocket altitude predictor -- you enter the rocket's diameter, weight, Cd, and the motor's thrust curve, and it shows you graphs of the speed, altitude, etc. The Cd value for a rocket can easily be guessed at by using another tool like RockSim, or finding the Cd of a craft similar to the one you're designing. So far so good. Then the fun stuff: it takes parameters like the number of ramjets, ramjet inlet and outer diameters, amount of fuel, fuel type, burn time, etc, and it tries to figure about out how it might perform. (You can also give it an initial velocity to simulate firing it out of a cannon or whatever.)

I am attaching the current version of the spreadsheet. (Let me remind everyone that it is very much a work in progress, and it has lots of silly things I need to fix, like inconsistency of units.) Right now my biggest question is this: what is the best way to estimate the drag caused by a ramjet engine? For the rocket part, "force of drag = 0.5*(air density)*Cd*(frontal area)*(velocity)^2" works pretty well. But when I use frontal area values based on Decker's designs, I can not for the life of me get the engine to sustain itself. I think I need to find a more accurate way to measure this drag. (The example graphed in the spreadsheet uses artificially-selected ramjet dimensions to reduce drag, and it still doesn't sustain itself.)