Hi everone, im new to the jet world...

Moderator: Mike Everman

Pr1mus
Antipspambot question: 0

Hi everone, im new to the jet world...

Post by Pr1mus » Wed Nov 09, 2005 10:30 pm

Hi everone, im new to the jet world (and to the forums here) I am trying to get effective designs for a ramjet for my go kart. It alreasy has a 5.5 briggs and stratton on it and goes 28.6 mph. So all I need is to figure out how to make a ramjet that can produce a decent amount of thrust at 20mph. From what I can see, all a ramjet is is a tube you move through the air and inject feul into...

well here is an idea for mine, it is probably a complete failure of an idea, but at least I tried

http://img46.imageshack.us/my.php?image=whatnot9jz.png

http://img46.imageshack.us/img46/8845/whatnot9jz.th.png

any ideas hints or comments would be appreciated, or even a complete redesign. well thanks for a moment of your time.
If you drive, drive safely
If you ride, don't ride with idiots
If you drive like an idiot, DON'T DRIVE DOWN MY STREET

El-Kablooey

re: Hi everone, im new to the jet world...

Post by El-Kablooey » Thu Nov 10, 2005 2:07 am

The first thing you will need to do ia make your kart go at least 10x faster, then the ramjets may work if designed properly.

I must say I like your handle though, Primus is one of the greatest bands ever in history.

Look into valveless pulsejets, they may suit your purpose. just read (ALOT) through the forum, you will find a huge amount of info.
On an endless quest in search of a better way.

Pr1mus

Post by Pr1mus » Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:13 pm

thank you, I will do that... how much thrust do you think one of thes valveless pulsejets can provide? I would like at least an additional 6 horsepower, that would be approximately 12lb of thrust, right?
If you drive, drive safely
If you ride, don't ride with idiots
If you drive like an idiot, DON'T DRIVE DOWN MY STREET

pezman

Speaking of Primus...

Post by pezman » Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:51 am