Short Lady Build Log

Moderator: Mike Everman

sid_raptor
Antipspambot question: 125

Short Lady Build Log

Post by sid_raptor » Thu May 08, 2014 4:48 pm

Hi all!

First allow me to introduce myself. My name is Sid. I have a degree in mechanical engineering from The University Of Brighton and i currently live and work in Mozambique.
I have access to a small workshop mostly used for industrial equipment repair. I have been interested in pulse jets since i was in school but never had the opportunity to actually build one. So a few days ago i thought why not build one now! After all i do have access to welding equipment!

So after searching through the internet and doing a little reading, i decided to build Larry Cottrill's Short Lady design.

I am going to post a few pics of my build in progress and the final results here and hopefully will get some good advice along the way!
The Great and Powerful Wizard of MOZ!

sid_raptor

Re: Short Lady Build Log

Post by sid_raptor » Thu May 08, 2014 4:54 pm

Here is what i have done so far!

I do have access to welding equipment but not much in the way of equipment for making stuff out of sheet metal, so ive had to improvise a lot.

I started with buying a long steel pipe for the tailpipe and a 1mm steel plate.

The first thing i built was the cone. I started by tracing the outline on a sheet of 1mm steel and made it slightly larger than the intended dimension.
Attachments
IMG-20140507-WA000.jpg

sid_raptor

Post by sid_raptor » Thu May 08, 2014 4:58 pm

Next, i cut the rough outline using a disc cutter. After that i used an angle grinder to sand it down to the proper dimensions and used a file to give it a smooth finish.

I was then ready to roll the cone!
Attachments
IMG-20140507-WA0004.jpg
IMG-20140507-WA0001.jpg

sid_raptor

Post by sid_raptor » Thu May 08, 2014 5:02 pm

Now came the tricky part! I had never rolled a cone before and i had little idea what i was doing.