valveless pulsejet for beginner

Moderator: Mike Everman

GreenDay2244
Antipspambot question: 125

valveless pulsejet for beginner

Post by GreenDay2244 » Sun Nov 14, 2010 4:18 pm

Hi,

I want to build a simple pulsejet engine, but I'm an absolute beginner with pulsejets. Yesterday I saw this one: http://www.cottrillcyclodyne.com/ElektraI/ElektraI.html
Is this engine good for a beginner? Is it easy to start this engine or do I need a compressor for auxiliary air? Are the dimensions very critical or can I use scrap parts with approximately original sizes?
Or has somebody got any other suggestions for a very easy engine suitable for beginners and easy to build?

Thank you in anticipation!

Greetings

GreenDay2244

metiz

Re: valveless pulsejet for beginner

Post by metiz » Sun Nov 14, 2010 4:55 pm

Try this engine. Build it as close to the original plans as possible or risk a non runner. If you want other options, go to the obvious sticky on top of the valveless section named "looking for plans look here"

The Electra is not a very good engine (no offence, Larry)
Quantify the world.

GreenDay2244

Post by GreenDay2244 » Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:35 pm

Hi,

thanks for your answer. Unfortunately I'm not very good at welding and building a combustion chamber like shown in the plan seems nearly impossible for me :(
It doesn't matter how good the engine is, I just want to get it running with a little bit thrust.

Greetings

GreenDay2244

metiz

Post by metiz » Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:19 pm

well depends on thrust I guess. The electra will run, obviously, and does not have an awful lot of welding seems. If your oprions are limited then in this case the Electra is the best option I guess
Quantify the world.

Vermin
Antipspambot question: 0

Post by Vermin » Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:44 pm

You could try this one simple and EZ to build, if you dont want to use a spark plug a sparkler can be used for ignition.
Cheers
and have fun
V
Attachments
EZJet.pdf
(7.55 KiB) Downloaded 765 times
Vern