Would this work? Project: BenJet XL 0.1

Moderator: Mike Everman

BenJet
Antipspambot question: 125

Would this work? Project: BenJet XL 0.1

Post by BenJet » Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:32 pm

One little introduction:

Hello everyone, I am new to the forums. And this is my first post. :roll: I accidentally found the PulseJet Engine by actually googling for an Yamaha motorbike I wanted to buy. :oops: Afterward I started looking at (I can't remember how many) youtube videos and I found this so interesting that I first canceled buying this motorbike and investigate more about this fabulous old technology. I'm glad that the Germans found some use (not a very humanitarian use at all :shock: ) to it and made it popular. Now I am hooked to it. :D

About the project:
So, I've been looking around. Taking notes, writing down useful tips I've found over the net. And keeping ideas of other people's PulseJets (thanks for all the videos and info that is being shared).

I started drawing some PulseJet... Some might work, some might not. One of them I am going to show you now...

Here are the plans:

As you can see. The air enters in the front, so that the (4) air intakes can get some fresh air, the (10) augmentators over them will contribute to thrust, rest air will cool the components inside flowing around the (5) chamber and the (6) exhaust finally exiting the (8) overair/cooling whatever u wanna call em holes. (13) could be some sort of heat resistant noise damping material. fuel is being heated before it enters the combustion chamber :wink:

Front and back view.

Looking forward to read some tips and suggestions, or just read what you think about this project. I am not even sure if this will work. I really would like to build some kind of engine I could use to attack it to something. Still looking where I can get good materials (still not sure what to use) and someone who has the machinery to help with bending tubes and all that stuff.

Thanks
Ben
Everman, give us forum avatars!