School Project-- GOT QUESTIONS on -- K-PT 07X --

Moderator: Mike Everman

snakeye
Antipspambot question: 0

School Project-- GOT QUESTIONS on -- K-PT 07X --

Post by snakeye » Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:59 am

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to pulsjet's although I did a lot of research on them on this forum and other site's like aardvark.
Someone from pulse-jets.nl sent me a good but simple valveless pulsjet design. That was the K-PT 07X.
Now I've got some questions:
The diameters are pretty weird sizes (in mm are they), and I was thinking about buying standard DN sized pipes, cause welding sheet metal into pipes takes to much work and is pretty difficult. now for my quistion:
Do I have to make the pulse jet with the EXACT sizes given in the design? or can I take standard pipe sizes that are pretty close to the blueprint? And does it RUN with that slightly other sizes?

The second question:
there is a U-bend in the design... but there is also a little description written on the blueprint like : the u-bend is 90 degrees! but A u-bend is normally 180 degrees cause it isn't a u bent if it's 90 degrees.

I need some explanation.

THanks in advance.

Jimmy

this is the engine I was planning to build
==> http://www.pulse-jets.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=3185 <==[/b]

mk

re: School Project-- GOT QUESTIONS on -- K-PT 07X --

Post by mk » Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:33 pm

"Snakeye",

Cool, that the design is evaluated by others as well. =)

I do not know which kind of pipes you are referring to. For me it was always way cheaper and easier to simply build the tubular and conical sections by hand.
Therefore, could you please state the pipe specifications, like material, wall thickness, ID or OD? And maybe where you got it from? That would be interesting for me, too.

If the pipes' IDs are only off by a few percent compared to the stated dimensions, you should at least get a running engine. The latter seems to be enough for a school project, does it not?