Engine platform for a small aerobatic machin?

Moderator: Mike Everman

JonArne23
Antipspambot question: 125

Engine platform for a small aerobatic machin?

Post by JonArne23 » Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:52 pm

Im looking at 2 pulsejets engines for my aircraft project. I started out wanting 1 or 2 turbines but soon found out that they are WAYYYY over my budget of 30k USD . A freind from the flying club tiped me about using a pulsejet. Im a complet noob at pulsejets but i have someflying and building experience . 1500 hours full IR and ATPL and buildt a Rand-Robiensen KR-2 and helped build a RV-6.
My project is a singel seater aerobatic machine loosly based on the BD-5 microjet . Im following the KISS rule for my plane (Keep It Simple Stupid) , and cheap .... At the same time i want somthing that people have not seen before and i can use as a crowd pleaser. The endurace does not have to be great since i know the Pulse jets are thirsty as hell. compared to a 100++ hp prop engine .
Im looking for somthing in the 150lb + thrust range x2 that is ...my first consern is safty and reliablity of the engines ....my old rutine lasted about 5-7 mins +takeoff , holding time and landing . i need atleast 45 mins total time as a bare minimum. everything over that is good.
i know this engines run on just about any fuel , but i read that some fuels are better then others ? the fuel must be liquid ...no gas since i cant get a reg number for it with "experimental fuel".

I have some basic questions =
-How heavy are they , for the 150-200lb range ? in stainless steel ?
-Fuel consmusion ? 2x (need to make it safer,, safty in numbers and all that)
-Size ? Length , diameter ?
-Throttebillity ? this is a must. I have read alot of articals online and some say no throttle ...others say 15% - 100% range. ?
-Valved or valvless? i know the Valvless are simpler and last longer ?
-TBO time ? (Time Before Overhaul)

thanks for ur help ..

Jon-Arne