Several questions about design

Moderator: Mike Everman

timwylie
Antipspambot question: 125

Several questions about design

Post by timwylie » Fri Dec 11, 2009 4:42 am

Hello, I'm relatively new to the world of pulse jet building. I've gone over a lot of stuff and read through a couple of books and it seems the more I try to find answers the more questions I have. As mentioned a lot, in general not a lot of new research has been done on standard pulse-jet design. So here are some questions that hopefully you all have some answers or thoughts about.

In Bruce's book "The Enthusiast's Guide to Pulse Jets" he mentions a few things I couldn't find reference to anywhere else.
Has anyone else built the dual-disc cover between the valves and the combustion chamber? Does it really increase efficiency and increase valve-life?
Also, does releasing fuel from between those plates do as good a job at atomizing as he claims?

Does cooling the tailpipe increase efficiency/thrust? Would ribbing help this? Has anyone ever hooked up a sterling engine to the tailpipe? Also, would putting the pulsejet in a duct do the same thing by forcing the cold air around it?

Does the tailpipe have to be straight or can it be curved for space concerns? I saw that a lockwood design could do this, but was unsure of a standard valved one.

What is the best type of valve configuration for efficiency?

Is there any sort of calculator that takes into account an augmentor? As in, I could build a 40lb thrust valved pj, or a 30lb thrust pj with augmentor of this shape and get 40lbs.

And last, has anyone ever increased the surface area of the combustion chamber by adding dimples, ridges, etc in order to make the gas more active and combust more thoroughly? I know this has been done with success on an ICE and the random grooves cause the gases to disperse more thoroughly and ignite better.