Pulso-1 Plans metric does not = inches ???

Moderator: Mike Everman

gone2fly
Antipspambot question: 125

Pulso-1 Plans metric does not = inches ???

Post by gone2fly » Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:34 pm

I am looking at the Pulso 1 plans. Demensions are all in mm, the inch numbers written next to the metric numbers are not equal to the metric numbers. What is the deal with that?

Example tail pipe ID is listed as 45 and the OD is listed as 48, I assume that is mm.

45mm = 1.771"

48mm = 1.889"

1 53/64 = 1.828" a difference of .061" and .057" ?

also

8 holes in the valve plate 14mm each = .551" but it also says 9/16" which = .562" a difference of .011" ?

It seams logical to me to ignore the inch numbers, the metric numbers are probably correct. I am a machinist a plus or minus .001" is fine with me but plus or minus 1/16" does not work for me.

Has anyone built this engine?

The plans say nothing about the reed valve material or the thickness???

It does say 0,15 Dick, I have no idea what that means?

phillip

Re: Pulso-1 Plans metric does not = inches ???

Post by phillip » Sat Sep 26, 2009 5:27 am

I would stick with the metric numbers on this jet as for the 0,15 Dick that is metric sometimes they use the (,) instead of the (.) and the Dick is a typo is should say thick so the thickness would be 0.005905 inches

vturbine

Post by vturbine » Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:47 am

Did you see this?

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5223

There was a mention of the valve holes being too small, I believe.

I'm also curious about the fuel jet and needle valve. Is the fuel gasoline? if so wouldn't it draw unevenly, since the orifice is below the centerline? If pressurized propane (or even pressurized liquid), I can imagine that the fuel would have some momentum, and then its position would be easier to understand.